Common - Let Love

Common - Let Love
August 30th, 2019

Common’s 12th studio album Let Love was inspired by the second book he’s authored, May 2019’s Let Love Have the Last Word. The publisher’s website describes the book as a rumination on “God, self-love, partners, children, family, and community,” the MC adopting a mission to help others understand what it means to give and receive love. The man once known as Common Sense explores these same themes within Let Love but wants to be clear that the album is far from a musical companion piece. “The book was the seed that started me in this conversation,” he says. “It's not like each song will match a chapter. It's just another form of expression of what I wanted to get out there. I believe that the energy of love and the act of love, the practice of it, is the thing that we can use as individuals and as people to overcome the heaviness of the times. When I say, 'Let love,' I'm saying put love into practice. Allow love to be the law that we abide by.” Below Common explains, track by track, what inspired him to express this on record.


1. Good Morning Love ft. Samora Pinderhughes
2. HER Love ft. Daniel Caesar
3. Dwele’s Interlude
4. Hercules ft. Swizz Beatz
5. Fifth Story ft. Leikeli47
6. Forever Your Love ft. BJ The Chicago Kid
7. Leaders (Crib Love) ft. A-Trak
8. Memories of Home ft. BJ The Chicago Kid & Samora Pinderhughes
9. Show Me That You Love ft. Jill Scott & Samora Pinderhughes
10. My Fancy Free Future Love
11. God Is Love ft. Leon Bridges & Jonathan McReynolds